Traffic Defense

Reckless Driving

Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor and is punishable with a fine of up to $2500 and up to one year in jail. Convictions may also include a license suspension and a conviction will remain on a driver’s Virginia driving record for 11 years and result in 6 demerit points. A reckless driving conviction may also cause your insurance rates to escalate and make it harder to find employment or to keep a security clearance for an existing position. There are many actions that can be charged as reckless driving, which include:

  • Driving in excess of 20 mph above the speed limit
  • Driving at any speed over 80 mph
  • Failure to signal properly
  • Passing a stopped school bus
  • Failure to break appropriately
  • Racing
  • Aggressive driving

Reckless Driving is a serious crime in the Commonwealth and will require a court appearance by you and your experienced attorney. Call today for your free consultation and protect your license and your criminal record.

DUI/DWI

Driving under the influence is a Class 1 misdemeanor and can result in up to one year in jail, a 12 month license suspension and up to $2500 in fines and 6 demerit points on your license. If you have prior DUI/DWI convictions, the penalties can be much harsher and include mandatory minimum jail time and increased fines. In addition, if you fail to blow into the Intoxylizer, you may be charged with a refusal. A conviction for a refusal carries a one year loss of license without the opportunity for a restricted license. A DUI/DWI conviction may also cause your insurance rates to escalate and make it harder to find employment or to keep a security clearance for an existing position.

You need an experienced DUI/DWI attorney to fight for you. There are many complicated defenses for DUI/DWI cases, including lack of reasonable suspicion, lack of probable cause, motions to suppress and others. A competent defense lawyer can assess your case and defend you. Call today for a free consultation

Driving on a Suspended License

Driving on a suspended operator’s license is a Class 1 misdemeanor and can result in up to one year in jail, a 1 license suspension and up to $2500 in fines. A conviction may also cause your insurance rates to escalate and make it harder to find employment or to keep a security clearance for an existing position.

You need an experienced traffic attorney to fight for you. There are many complicated defenses for suspended license charges, including lack of notice and other issues with the underlying suspension. Call today for a free consultation.

Hit and Run

Leaving the scene of an accident is a crime in Virginia, regardless of the severity of the damage or if any injuries occurred. Hit and run offenses can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the case. It may involve jail time and or a license suspension. A hit and run conviction may also cause your insurance rates to escalate and make it harder to find employment or to keep a security clearance for an existing position.

You need an experienced defense attorney to fight for you if you are charged with this serious crime. Many possible defenses exist and your attorney can assess the individual facts of your case and determine the best strategy. Call today for your free consultation.